The Harp Common Juniper

This tree was lifted from my front garden about 6 years ago and remained in its pot untouched for about 2 years although the main deadwood Shari and Jins were carved during that period.

The large curved trunk was originally horizontal so I split it with a fret saw along the length of the trunk area where I wanted the bend. A cut of about 9 inches. I then used a ratchet strap to pull it into position. I put it into this bonsai pot about 2 years ago and apart from some minor branch positioning it has been left until now.

Its heading for the Garage Night on 27th Jan when I hope to have a go at further styling.  as can be seen the weakest part of the tree is  toward the base and I hope to see that progress, Deo Volente  in the coming season.

More pics Anon

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Harp Common Juniper

  1. bonsai eejit says:

    Here’s something to think about. What way do you think the movement of the tree is going, to the left or to the right?

  2. I see the bottom branch extending further to the left to complete the TRIANGLE. In my view the tree movement is to the left. There’s only 2 answers to your question. I’ve probably picked the wrong one. Nothing like going out on a limb !!!

  3. Pingback: Left or Right? | BONSAI EEJIT

Leave a Reply

