Cedar Possibility

This tree has been a bit of a disaster and has been doing nothing on the sidelines for a long time.  It is a grafted tree and there was an inverted taper up to the graft and so some years ago I set about gently hammering the trunk to encourage thickening. Well it was supposed to be gently. I almost killed the tree as the bark and cambium layer came off on one side and I more or less discarded it.

Cedar 1

Ian Y saw it when he paid me a visit some weeks ago and made a passing suggestion that I should consider losing the top part of the tree, jin and shari some of the existing trunk and branches and just concentrate on one lower branch.

Cedar 1 Shari

As you can see my skills in Photoshop are very limited but I think it was something like this that he had in mind. I think it’s an option and may well turn a rubbish tree into a marginally better piece of rubbish. The virtual deadwood would put me in mind of a dragon. Now that’s gotta be a plus.

When you get my age the days can be long so it would give me something to do. Question is, When’s the best time.

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cedar Possibility

  1. bonsai eejit says:

    Yep, Think I was right there. Will make a far more believable image. I’d chop the apex back during the Winter when the sap has slowed down. Likely to bleed a lot during the growing season. Nice virtual too! You’re really getting the hang of this lark 🙂

Leave a Reply

