Scots Pine Rewind

I posted an update on this tree a couple of weeks ago showing the progress it had made during the 2012 growing season.

Scots Pine Front Oct 2012

This is the image posted then and I have to say I was happy with it.

I brought the tree to the Peter Warren workshop and to put it bluntly Peter didn’t really like the tree as it was and strongly recommended that the front should be changed and the top of the tree should be brought forward toward the new front and the entire tree be brought forward in the pot next time it is re-potted.
Critiqueing the Tree

Peter Warren Oct 2012

This is the suggested new front after some wiring, branch placement and guy wiring the apex to incline it forward. Some of the branch tips have been shortened to reduce the overall canopy spread.

Scots Pine original_1

Trouble is that as this image shows the tree is almost back where it was before Ian and I re-styled it last year and I’m not sure now what I like best.

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scots Pine Rewind

  1. Steve Moore says:

    My first response would be, “How do *you* like the tree?”
    On the one hand, you don’t pay a professional good money just to blow off his advice, but on the other, when all’s said and done it’s your tree, and you’re the one who needs to be happy with it.

    • futterwithtrees says:

      My sentiments exactly Steve. I respect all the advice given and try to receive it objectively. I need to think about this tree while bearing in mind your earlier comment about it looking a bit top heavy. Thanks

Leave a Reply

