Potentilla

I really liked this Peter Warren potentilla post in Oct 12.  It was pretty soon after this that I bought a couple of garden centre  Potentilla. I decided to while away the winter blues by giving this one a bit of a pruning in anticipation of the new growing season that is just around the corner. I agree that its probably a long corner but spring is approaching slowly.

I understand that potentilla back bud prolifically so I will almost certainly prune a little harder once growth starts appearing.Potentilla 120121109_6407

This is the tree as bought and stands about 55 cms

Nebari

Potentilla 3

After pruning and a little wiring this is the first option

Potentilla 2

Potentilla 1

There are also these windswept options

 In each option I am thinking that the lower forked branch on the right hand side will be pruned back further and used as a dead wood feature.  The long curved branch that is wired with a guy wire will almost certainly be shortened as well. I have left it long to help with bending and also to ensure ample space for back budding. I couldn’t bend it any further due to the risk of it snapping off completely. The wood is very brittle.

The next step is to find a suitable pot and then wait for the flowers as I have no idea of the variety or colour.

Any suggestions re style and design are welcome apart of course from those that involve bins, shredders and blow torches etc.

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

