Shohin Yew

This tree  started life as a cutting many years ago and grown in the ground for a short time. I lifted it about 4 years ago and left (neglected) without attention until last year when Ian Y started to give it a basic styling during the winter 2012/13. I had a go the other day and tried to finish it.

The before pics show that it was quite a bushy beast whose foliage was yellow. I had convinced myself that this was because it was a golden variety but plenty of feed this summer has proved this to be a wrong conclusion. The foliage has turned a deeper green and the health of the tree has been greatly improved.

Most of the foliage has been taken away leaving a number of key branches and deadwood. The deadwood to the left of the styled tree was a long straight branch which we thought could be incorporated into the styling by keeping it more or less to the back of the tree. I decided to go for a different front and this means that all the growth on this particular branch emerges from the back of it. I have split the branch leaving deadwood to its front and also tried to introduce some taper and movement.  As the remaining growth at the back lengthens I will make it more visible by bringing  some of it down  below the deadwood. This will also allow me to bring it forward forward.

I think there is some potential but there’s a long way to go. I might even invest in a new pot.

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shohin Yew

  1. Steve Moore says:

    Good proportions; I think you’re off to a good start.

  2. bonsai eejit says:

    My memory is as bad as yours, I can’t even remember this one!

Leave a Reply

