Scots Pine Trim

This is another tree that is doing very well just now. The candles had extended very well and it was time to pinch them back. Obviously not all have been pinched back. Those where the tree is weaker and where we are looking for extended growth have been left.

I have a bit of a love hate relationship with this tree and just can’t settle on the right design. Some have suggested very drastic chopping to form a bunjin among other things but I just don’t know. It’s a tree I collected in Surrey many years ago and I really want the best for it.

These are shots of front and back plus some of the pinched candles etc.

This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Scots Pine Trim

  1. dangerousbry says:

    I can see why you like the tree 🙂

    I can also understand why you have a niggle about the design. One thing noticed is he semi circle shape which spins up he trunk to the left branch.
    Just allows you to sit in front of it and contemplating design!

    Last year I cut all candles on one of my pines. Right down to the buds that never really moved. I had great back budding results. I will be doing the same this year also!!!

Leave a Reply

